The Moroccan national football team has been placed in Group B following the draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers, held Thursday in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Group B composition

The Atlas Lions will compete alongside Gabon, Central African Republic, and Lesotho in their group. Despite being the host nation and thus automatically qualifying for the final tournament, Morocco will still participate in the group stage of the qualifiers.

Automatic qualification

As the host country, Morocco is guaranteed a spot in the final phase of AFCON 2025, which will take place from December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026. This tournament will mark a significant event for the country as it welcomes the continent’s top football teams.

Full group breakdown

Here is the complete list of the 12 qualifying groups for AFCON 2025:

  • Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, Gambia
  • Group B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho
  • Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana
  • Group D: Nigeria, Benin, Libya, Rwanda
  • Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia
  • Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger
  • Group G: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad
  • Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia
  • Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini
  • Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe
  • Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan
  • Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

Looking forward

Morocco’s football team, bolstered by home advantage, is expected to perform strongly in the tournament. The Atlas Lions aim to not only excel in the qualifiers but also to make a significant impact in the final tournament, leveraging their home ground to their advantage.